I am a simple wooden spoon

122. I am a Simple Wooden Spoon
God has not called me to be a vessel made of silver or gold. I do not hold precious oil, Frankincense or Myrrh. I am not a chest filled with coins or gems and jewelry.
I am a simple wooden spoon in the hand of God.
God may use me for many purposes just as we also use wooden spoons for many things.
I can be used to stir up oatmeal for breakfast, cookie dough for treats, sugar into lemonade and soup for dinner.
I can be used to carry eggs as a child runs across the lawn during a race.
I can be used as an instrument to beat on the pots and pans of a child’s play drum set.
I can be used by a child as a baton, magic wand or a pointer.
I can be used to chase away pests who would steal the cookies as they cool on the rack.
I can even be used to discipline an unruly child and guide it down the correct path.
Even at the end of my life when it seems that I am old, worn out, split and splintered, I can still be of use to God.
I can be used to stir up the paint that will be used to color the whole house and make it bright and beautiful for many years to come.
I am simply a tool in the hands of a loving God.

About chaplainchucks

I am an old Marine who has become a Chaplain. I love to write stories, poetry and to perform wedding ceremonies. I live in the mountains in Southern California but work near the beach. I also enjoy camping and cooking in my Dutch Ovens. I am a philosopher, gentleman, Renaissance man and great-grandfather. USMC 1976-1980 (Tank Battalion) US Army 1980-1988 (Military Intelligence) Minister license 1995
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

