I’m not Done yet!

I’m not Done Yet!
A Chuck Weiskircher Poem © 5/8/2014

I am not done yet or ready to die
There are many things I desire to try
Life is moving way too fast
I’m too busy having a blast

I have yet to fly to the moon
Or to eat BBQ by the beach in June.
I want my George Jetson flying car
So I can quickly travel very far.

I want to see my grandkids wedding
Then take their own kids sledding.
I want to dance more with my wife
To the music we listened to all our life.

I want to teach my kids God’s word
In ways they may have never heard.
I want to have a Dude ranch reunion
And see our family put aside disunion.

I want to ride my horse past the river
And to swim in water that makes me shiver.
I want to ride with my wife side by side
While remembering when she was first my bride.

We were not as young as some tis true
But the bond we share is stronger than glue.
I enjoy being with her all day and all night
Together our future has always been bright.

The end of life will come to us all
Sometimes this thought makes us feel small.
We feel we are living our lives fast and full out
Knowing someday they will end is never in doubt.

The trouble is I cannot make time to stand still
Considering life’s end sometimes gives me a chill.
We make our plans and then put our trust in God
Knowing we have a place in his plan makes us feel awed

About chaplainchucks

I am an old Marine who has become a Chaplain. I love to write stories, poetry and to perform wedding ceremonies. I live in the mountains in Southern California but work near the beach. I also enjoy camping and cooking in my Dutch Ovens. I am a philosopher, gentleman, Renaissance man and great-grandfather. USMC 1976-1980 (Tank Battalion) US Army 1980-1988 (Military Intelligence) Minister license 1995
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

