Mother’s Day is Here again

Mother’s Day has come again
A Chuck Weiskircher Poem © 5/9/2014

Once again it is that time of year
To lift up our mothers and give a cheer
We remember the good times as well as the bad
And the times we were threatened “Just wait for Dad!”

As the years go by I grow more grateful
That our joys abounded by the plateful
I cannot remember every meal she made
But over each one I know we prayed.

I did not always appreciate her good advice
And for ignoring it I always paid a price.
Still she loved me just as I was
Even when my actions caused her to pause.

My love for my mom and hers for me
Were always unconditional and given for free
The jokes we shared daily as we made fun of life
I now share with my family, especially my wife.

Mom for me was always a big supporter
Standing by me she was a foot shorter.
When I joined the Marines I remember she cried
But when I wore my Dress Blues she was filled with pride.

I remember every holiday that we celebrated
To decorating the house for each she was dedicated.
From Christmas to Easter she had something for each
I was always recruited to help because of my reach.

As the years go by and mom grows older
Mom reminds me of some old graying soldier.
She is not as fast or strong as she used to be
But her value in being my mom is outstanding to me

About chaplainchucks

I am an old Marine who has become a Chaplain. I love to write stories, poetry and to perform wedding ceremonies. I live in the mountains in Southern California but work near the beach. I also enjoy camping and cooking in my Dutch Ovens. I am a philosopher, gentleman, Renaissance man and great-grandfather. USMC 1976-1980 (Tank Battalion) US Army 1980-1988 (Military Intelligence) Minister license 1995
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

