Dads and Fathers

Dads and Fathers
A Chuck Weiskircher Poem © 5/13/2014

Dads and Fathers are not always the same
Fathers do not always play the family game
Dads are those who are always there
They are the men who deeply care.

A father can create a child then walk away
Dads are always the guys who will stay.
Dads will love you no matter what
Fathers sometimes act more like a nut.

Fathers can also be true blue
And learn to love you it is true.
But Dads make that choice every day
And throughout your life they will stay.

Dads will give you discipline and some advice
And share how you can give up your own vice.
Fathers can fail and often have their own agenda
And some will leave your mom for a woman named Brenda.

Fathers can choose to be good Dads
And love unconditionally their lasses and lads.
But a Dad’s unconditional love comes from his heart
And he goes into the role with this love from the start.

But Dads are not perfect either you see
I know because this poem is about me.
I never chose not to be anyone’s Father
For me adopting a child was no bother.

I love all my kids, each and every one
I share my love from the rising to the setting sun.
I am not their father but that’s OK you see
Forever they will be precious children to me.

Not being a father was never my choice
Begging God for children I raised my voice.
But God’s plan for me was to be a Dad
And for me God’s plan is not at all bad.

I had eight children who have called me Dad
Sometimes the things they do make me sad.
But I love them all through good times and strife
And I will choose to be a Dad for the rest of my life.

About chaplainchucks

I am an old Marine who has become a Chaplain. I love to write stories, poetry and to perform wedding ceremonies. I live in the mountains in Southern California but work near the beach. I also enjoy camping and cooking in my Dutch Ovens. I am a philosopher, gentleman, Renaissance man and great-grandfather. USMC 1976-1980 (Tank Battalion) US Army 1980-1988 (Military Intelligence) Minister license 1995
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

