It is no longer I who lives

It is no longer I who lives but Christ who lives in me.
Galatians 2:20

I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

No. I was not actually, physically crucified. I was crucified with Christ mystically in a spiritual crucifixion of my inner man. To believe in Christ crucified, is not only to believe that he was crucified, but also to believe that I am crucified with him.
Christ suffered physical crucifixion to provide salvation for everyone in the world who lived then and everyone who will ever be born before he returns. Our baptism is an outward sign of the inward change of our spiritual lives. In the ceremony we demonstrate that we died and were buried to our old sin nature and have now been raised to live our lives according to God’s will in our new spiritual nature. (Romans 8:9 You, however, are not in the realm of the flesh but are in the realm of the Spirit, if indeed the Spirit of God lives in you. And if anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, they do not belong to Christ.)

So then it is no longer I (my old sin nature) who lives but Christ (my new Spirit nature guided by the Holy Spirit dwelling within me) who now lives. My body is the temple where God dwells. (1 Corinthians 3:16 Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in your midst?) The great purpose of Christianity is to make men like Jesus Christ. As He is the image of the invisible God we are to be the images of the unseen Christ. But God cannot dwell in an aggregate of men, unless He dwells in the individuals that compose the aggregate. Therefore Christ dwells in us and we dwell in him as individuals.
I live my life now by faith in Jesus. Faith in the fact that Christ lives in me and I am looking to him for pardon, righteousness, peace, joy, comfort, every supply of grace, my daily needs and eternal salvation.
Jesus gave himself for me, body and soul when he died on the cross as an offering to God as he took the punishment for my sins upon himself and forever removed them from me as far as the east is from the west. (Psalm 103:12 as far as the east is from the west so far has he removed our transgressions from us.) Christ lives and reigns in me, and I live here on earth by faith in the Son of God, which works by love, causes obedience, and changes me into his holy image.

About chaplainchucks

I am an old Marine who has become a Chaplain. I love to write stories, poetry and to perform wedding ceremonies. I live in the mountains in Southern California but work near the beach. I also enjoy camping and cooking in my Dutch Ovens. I am a philosopher, gentleman, Renaissance man and great-grandfather. USMC 1976-1980 (Tank Battalion) US Army 1980-1988 (Military Intelligence) Minister license 1995
This entry was posted in Family, Relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

