Uncle Chux Bedtime Stories (Prodigal Son)

Chuck Then
Parable of the Prodigal son (won’t you come home?)
Luke 15:11-32

“There was a man who had two sons. The younger one said to his father, ‘Father, give me my share of the estate.’ So he divided his property between them.
“Not long after that, the younger son got together all he had, set off for a distant country and there squandered his wealth in wild living. After he had spent everything, there was a severe famine in that whole country, and he began to be in need. So he went and hired himself out to a citizen of that country, who sent him to his fields to feed pigs. He longed to fill his stomach with the pods that the pigs were eating, but no one gave him anything.
“When he came to his senses, he said, ‘How many of my father’s hired servants have food to spare, and here I am starving to death! I will set out and go back to my father and say to him: Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. I am no longer worthy to be called your son; make me like one of your hired servants.’ So he got up and went to his father.
“But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and was filled with compassion for him; he ran to his son, threw his arms around him and kissed him.
“The son said to him, ‘Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. I am no longer worthy to be called your son.’ “But the father said to his servants, ‘Quick! Bring the best robe and put it on him. Put a ring on his finger and sandals on his feet. Bring the fattened calf and kill it. Let’s have a feast and celebrate. For this son of mine was dead and is alive again; he was lost and is found.’ So they began to celebrate.
“Meanwhile, the older son was in the field. When he came near the house, he heard music and dancing. So he called one of the servants and asked him what was going on. ‘Your brother has come,’ he replied, ‘and your father has killed the fattened calf because he has him back safe and sound.’
“The older brother became angry and refused to go in. So his father went out and pleaded with him. But he answered his father, ‘Look! All these years I’ve been slaving for you and never disobeyed your orders. Yet you never gave me even a young goat so I could celebrate with my friends. But when this son of yours who has squandered your property with prostitutes comes home, you kill the fattened calf for him!’
“‘My son,’ the father said, ‘you are always with me, and everything I have is yours. But we had to celebrate and be glad, because this brother of yours was dead and is alive again; he was lost and is found.’”

Uncle Chux Version
Just like today, back then they did not split up the inheritance until someone dies. I believe this rude young man should have been spanked for his arrogance in asking for what he would receive after his dad died.
However, his dad being a nice guy sold some cattle and sheep and gave his son the cash that would have been his one third after the dad died. Older sons got two thirds and younger sons got one third, daughters looked for husbands.

Anyways, junior took the money and ran away. He knew he could not have a good time in the small town where he grew up so he went to the big city. Kind of like a farmer from Nebraska moving to New York City. He was not thinking about how he could generate more wealth or his future. He was only concerned with having as much fun as fast as he could.

Junior bought booze and found folks willing to drink his booze. Even some of the ladies who only come out at night found him attractive and desirable and gave him the pleasures he was looking for. Junior had a great time of partying all night and sleeping all day. His new friends stayed with him because he was very generous.

Well, that is until the money ran out. When he could not afford to buy more drinks his friends and the women left him. He couldn’t pay his rent so he got tossed out on the street. He had no education or skills so he couldn’t get a job in the city. He wound up working for a pig farmer in the country and he was not fed as much as the pigs got to eat.

Then he realized just how far he had fallen and how good he had it at home. There was always enough to eat and even the hired hands were fed more than he was getting. He decided to go home and tell his dad he had been a fool and spent everything without anything to show for it. He was sorry for sinning against him and God in heaven and did not feel worthy to be called his son anymore. He would like it if he could become one of the hired hands and buck hay for his room and board.

So he screwed up his courage, left the pig farmer and hitched rides back to Nebraska and finally got to the driveway to the family farm and started walking. While he was just coming over the hill his father saw him (he had been looking for him all day every day since he had left).

His father made a lot of noise and everyone came running to see what was up. The father ran to his son and gave him a big old bear hug and kissed his neck. The son told him, “Dad? I blew it. I am so sorry for everything I did to you and God and I am unworthy to be your son so just let me be a hired hand and I’ll buck hay for the rest of my life.”

But the dad said to the hands, “Quick! Bring out my best jacket and put it on him” he took off one of his gold rings and put it on his son’s finger then he said, “Go get those boots I had made for him and then kill a cow and start up the BBQ! We’re are going to celebrate! This son of mine was dead but now he is alive! He was lost but now he has found himself and his way home.” Then they partied all night.

Then the older son came in from bucking hay all day. he heard the music and smelled the roast beef. He asked his one of the hired hands, “what’s going on?” and the guy say’s “Junior is back and your dad is throwing him a party.” Big brother (We will call him “Bubba”) Bubba got mad and refused to go into the house and one of the hands told dad about him.

Dad came out and tried to convince him to join the party. Bubba refused and said “you know, I have been working my butt off since I was big enough to reach the pedals on the tractor. I never once refused to do anything you asked. You never even gave me a small goat to roast for my friends. But here comes junior who has spent everything you ever gave him on women and good times and when he shows up here broke you kill a cow and throw a party for him. It just isn’t fair Dad!”

Then Dad put his arm around Bubba and quietly reminded him, “You have always been here for me. Indeed! Everything I have in this world is yours, now and always. Yet, we had to celebrate your brother’s return. He was dead but now he is alive again. He was lost but now he has found himself and his way home. He will now be with us forever.”
And the moral of the story is this:
We are all dead. We are all lost. When we return to our father in heaven he will set up a party for us and we also will be with him forever.

About chaplainchucks

I am an old Marine who has become a Chaplain. I love to write stories, poetry and to perform wedding ceremonies. I live in the mountains in Southern California but work near the beach. I also enjoy camping and cooking in my Dutch Ovens. I am a philosopher, gentleman, Renaissance man and great-grandfather. USMC 1976-1980 (Tank Battalion) US Army 1980-1988 (Military Intelligence) Minister license 1995
This entry was posted in Biblical, Family, Relationships and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

