Regrets about love

lifestooshort
Regrets about love
A Chuck Weiskircher Poem © 8/7/2014

Oh yes regrets I’ve had a few
Some are old and others are new.
I spent my youth in the usual way
Running wild with friends as we play.

Learning to love girls was kind of hard
And usually left us both emotionally scarred.
Some I loved more and others a little less
The game of love often looked like Chess.

My high school friends tried to show me how
But some of what they did made me say “WOW!”
I tried to make moves like a movie star
Which made the girls giggle in the car.

The Marine Corps was no help in learning to love
They taught me how to give my enemies a shove.
Love to them was a foreign term
Maybe something related to a germ.

Getting married while in the service did not help
I often felt as if I was tangled in kelp.
I was away from home too many nights
My wife enjoyed time in the city lights.

Becoming a civilian sent me home.
It did not stop my wife’s desire to roam.
I am not perfect and was even untrue
Divorce seemed to be the thing to do.

Getting married to another was not better
Her cold shoulder made me wear a sweater
The next five years I decided to read
And finally allow my God to lead.

Then I met God’s choice for a wife for me
And for eleven years we have lived with glee.
So now my regrets I leave behind
And try to live with a clear mind.

About chaplainchucks

I am an old Marine who has become a Chaplain. I love to write stories, poetry and to perform wedding ceremonies. I live in the mountains in Southern California but work near the beach. I also enjoy camping and cooking in my Dutch Ovens. I am a philosopher, gentleman, Renaissance man and great-grandfather. USMC 1976-1980 (Tank Battalion) US Army 1980-1988 (Military Intelligence) Minister license 1995
This entry was posted in Family, Relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

