Jesus is God!

Believe in Jesus

Believe in Jesus


Jesus is God
Blasphemy:

1
a : the act of insulting or showing contempt or lack of reverence for God
b : the act of claiming the attributes of deity
2
: Irreverence toward something considered sacred or inviolable

Jesus several times during his ministry told the Jews that he was God. Several times they picked up stones to kill him; not for the good works which he did in their presence but because he claimed to be God.

1 John 1: 1,14
In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.
The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us. We have seen his glory, the glory of the one and only Son, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth.

The word was God and became flesh and he was named Jesus.

John 8:56-59
Your father Abraham rejoiced at the thought of seeing my day; he saw it and was glad.” “You are not yet fifty years old,” they said to him, “and you have seen Abraham!” “Very truly I tell you,” Jesus answered, “before Abraham was born, I am!” At this, they picked up stones to stone him, but Jesus hid himself, slipping away from the temple grounds.
The Jews take up stones in an attempt to stone Jesus to death because of his words. Why would the Jews want to stone Jesus if he hadn’t said something they believed to be blasphemous, namely, a claim to be God?

John 10:24-33
The Jews who were there gathered around him, saying, “How long will you keep us in suspense? If you are the Messiah, tell us plainly.” Jesus answered, “I did tell you, but you do not believe. The works I do in my Father’s name testify about me, but you do not believe because you are not my sheep. My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. I and the Father are one.” Again his Jewish opponents picked up stones to stone him, but Jesus said to them, “I have shown you many good works from the Father. For which of these do you stone me?” “We are not stoning you for any good work,” they replied, “but for blasphemy, because you, a mere man, claim to be God.”

When Jesus said “I and the Father are one.” some might not see this to be a claim to be God. However, when we look at the Jews’ reaction to his statement, “We are not stoning you for any good work,” they replied, “but for blasphemy, because you, a mere man, claim to be God.” Now we see an actual claim. The Jews understood Jesus’ statement to be a claim to be God. In the following verses, Jesus never corrects the Jews by saying, “I did not claim to be God.” That indicates Jesus was truly saying He was God by declaring, “I and the Father are one”

Luke 5:20-26
When Jesus saw their faith, he said, “Friend, your sins are forgiven.” The Pharisees and the teachers of the law began thinking to themselves, “Who is this fellow who speaks blasphemy? Who can forgive sins but God alone?” Jesus knew what they were thinking and asked, “Why are you thinking these things in your hearts? Which is easier: to say, ‘Your sins are forgiven,’ or to say, ‘Get up and walk’? But I want you to know that the Son of Man has authority on earth to forgive sins.” So he said to the paralyzed man, “I tell you, get up, take your mat and go home.” Immediately he stood up in front of them, took what he had been lying on and went home praising God. Everyone was amazed and gave praise to God. They were filled with awe and said, “We have seen remarkable things today.”

Only God can forgive sins because sin is only against God by breaking his commandments.

John 14:10
Don’t you believe that I am in the Father, and that the Father is in me? The words I say to you I do not speak on my own authority. Rather, it is the Father, living in me, who is doing his work.

Jesus and the father (God) are the same and dwell in each other. The Scribes and Pharisees took Jesus to be a mere man, but they were mistaken; for though he was really a man, and the son of man, yet he was God as well as man; he was God manifest in the flesh.
We who believe in Jesus are his sheep. We hear his voice as he calls to us and directs us and we fallow him in all things. Jesus gives us eternal life and we are in his hand. No one can take us out of Jesus hand because he and God are the same and no one can take us out of God’s hand.

About chaplainchucks

I am an old Marine who has become a Chaplain. I love to write stories, poetry and to perform wedding ceremonies. I live in the mountains in Southern California but work near the beach. I also enjoy camping and cooking in my Dutch Ovens. I am a philosopher, gentleman, Renaissance man and great-grandfather. USMC 1976-1980 (Tank Battalion) US Army 1980-1988 (Military Intelligence) Minister license 1995
This entry was posted in Biblical, Relationships and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

