Who is responsible for our eternal life?

inheritance6 2014
Jesus ensures believers get eternal life.
John 6:28-29, 35-40
Then they asked him, “What must we do to do the works God requires?” Jesus answered, “The work of God is this: to believe in the one he has sent.”
Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty. But as I told you, you have seen me and still you do not believe. All those the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never drive away. For I have come down from heaven not to do my will but to do the will of him who sent me. And this is the will of him who sent me, that I shall lose none of all those he has given me, but raise them up at the last day. For my Father’s will is that everyone who looks to the Son and believes in him shall have eternal life, and I will raise them up at the last day.”

Jesus is the bread of life given to us by God. Regular bread sustains our bodies but Jesus nourishes our souls. What must we do to inherit eternal life? Believe in Jesus. What work does God want us to do? God wants us to believe in Jesus.
Everyone who believes is given by God to Jesus. Jesus will present us to God on the last day. Not one person given to Jesus will be lost but all shall inherit eternal life.
Constant exercise of faith in Christ, is the most important and difficult part of the obedience required from us, as sinners seeking salvation. Once we have accepted Jesus as our Lord and Savior, he will sustain our souls for eternity. His love for those who believe in him is unconditional. Everyone who comes to faith in Jesus will never be cast aside or driven away. Jesus did not come to earth to do as he pleased in this life. Jesus came to do the will of God the father who sent him. God’s will for Jesus is for him to present everyone who believes to God on the last day. This will be the proof that they have eternal life. We may feel as if we have failed him. We may think we are lost because we sinned. If we confess our sins he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and restore our relationship with him. Jesus is responsible to God for each life given to him by God the father.

About chaplainchucks

I am an old Marine who has become a Chaplain. I love to write stories, poetry and to perform wedding ceremonies. I live in the mountains in Southern California but work near the beach. I also enjoy camping and cooking in my Dutch Ovens. I am a philosopher, gentleman, Renaissance man and great-grandfather. USMC 1976-1980 (Tank Battalion) US Army 1980-1988 (Military Intelligence) Minister license 1995
This entry was posted in Biblical, Relationships and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

