Count your blessings!

blessings
Count your blessings
Last Sunday Elaine heard an old Hymn for the first time “Count Your Blessings”. I thought about that and I am going to do that.

Salvation
I am very and eternally grateful to God for sending his son to die on the cross so I can have forgiveness of my sins and eternal life. God has forgiven me for so much and I am always prepared to also forgive others just as God has forgiven me.

Spouse
Again I am very grateful to God for bringing Elaine into my life according to his will and in his time. She and I have both enjoyed our relationship with each other and with God for 11 years and look forward to the rest of our lives together.

God’s Word
God has made sure I have access to his word in many forms so that I can study and memorize it. With God’s word in my mind I can resist temptations and use it for making better choices for myself and my family.

Shelter
My wife and I are extremely blessed. We have been allowed to work together and finance the mortgages on two homes that house members of our family. Up in the mountains our son and daughter in-law and their 4 children live in one home and down where we live we can house our daughter and son in-law and their 3 children along with my mother in-law and brother in-law (and various dogs and cats.)

Transportation
My wife and I each have a vehicle to drive ourselves to work in and a Truck to tow our camping trailer around with. We can use the newer car for long trips during vacations and loan our children the truck when their vehicle breaks down.

Food
Ah! My favorite. We are so very blessed to live here and have abundant access to varieties of food from around the world. Any time I feel the least desire for something I can eat there is something available in our home.

Work
Ok, so what I have is a job now rather than a career. I am still VERY thankful to God for having somewhere to go daily where they will pay me for being there. With the money I can afford the rest of the blessings I enjoy.

Entertainment
There is a great deal of entertainment available right in my own home. I can watch TV or play movies on discs or read a book or play a video game or a board game with the grandchildren. Is a nap considered entertainment?

About chaplainchucks

I am an old Marine who has become a Chaplain. I love to write stories, poetry and to perform wedding ceremonies. I live in the mountains in Southern California but work near the beach. I also enjoy camping and cooking in my Dutch Ovens. I am a philosopher, gentleman, Renaissance man and great-grandfather. USMC 1976-1980 (Tank Battalion) US Army 1980-1988 (Military Intelligence) Minister license 1995
This entry was posted in Biblical, Family, Relationships and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

